Entry Mirror Update

After adding our board and batten treatment to the entry, my mirror just sort of faded to the background.  I had painted it and hung it in the entry before we decided on wall colors for that area and turns out I know what I like because the color I created for the mirror originally (by mixing a few colors) ended up being almost the exact color of our board and batten color.  I figured white would make the most sense in an overhaul because that is clearly our color scheme here-blue/gray and white.  I left the inner decorative edge the blue/gray color to keep the contrast.

Before:

After:

But after painting Tuesday night, I decided I wasn’t really in love with the white either.  It seemed too matchy matchy and not rustic enough.  So I pulled out the old paint from our dining room (next to the entry) and did a couple thin coats of that over top which kept that driftwood look I like (similar to the coat hanger).

Final after:

Such a nice place to great guests.  Who wants to come over?

Complete side note:  if you are on Facebook and haven’t seen the Imperfectly Polished page, head over there and “like” it to get updates in your mini-feed!

3 responses to “Entry Mirror Update

  1. Sara March 3, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I recently found your blog and I LOVE IT! 1. I love Dave Ramsey 2. I love DIY, so this is right up my alley! I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind posting a typical grocery list on one of your Finacial Freedom Friday’s. My husband and I have a very similar grocery budget but sometimes I feel like we eat the same 10 meals over and over again.

    ps it looks like you did a wonderful job on this project!

  2. Imperfectly Polished March 4, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Thanks, Sara! Your comment was one of many requests to hear more about groceries so I am happy to post about it today on my Financial Freedom Friday post. I talked about different meals today and what are typical items we purchase on a weekly basis. I would be happy to talk further about groceries, give an actual menu and grocery list if that’s more what you are looking for. I hope you find it helpful!

  3. Pingback: March Wrap-Up «

Leave a comment